Ateneo eliminated Adamson

Ateneo de Manila University booked the last ticket to the semifinals of women’s volleyball—joining the undefeated National University, De La Salle University, and the University of Santo Tomas.

UAAP Season 84

Ateneo eliminated Adamson in women’s volleyball. Defending champion Ateneo de Manila University overwhelmed Adamson in a three-set victory. Faith Nisperos and AC Miner led the Blue Eagles with 22 and 16 respectively. The squad from Katipunan will face the third-seeded University of Santo Tomas in the step-ladder semifinals of the women’s volleyball.

đź“·: UAAP Media

Philippine Basketball Association

Ginebra escaped in its first game this season. Japeth Aguilar made the go-ahead jumper to lift the Barangay Ginebra over Blackwater, 85-82. Christian Standhardinger had 21 points, 7 rebounds, and 4 assists while newly-crowned MVP Scottie Thompson flirted with a triple-double with 14 points, 16 rebounds, and 9 assists.

đź“·: PBA Official Website

Castro turned back time after carrying TNT to a win. Jayson Castro tallied 17 points, 4 rebounds, and 3 assists to lift TNT against Converge, 86-83. Glen Khobuntin and Troy Rosario added 15 points and 8 rebounds, and a 13-point 13-rebound double-double respectively for the Tropang Giga.

Meralco, NorthPort won. Meralco overcame 16-point deficit to start their campaign with a 109-98 victory against Phoenix Super LPG. Chris Newsome tallied 21 points, 7 rebounds, and 7 assists while the 43-year-old Reynel Hugnatan scored 17 to help the Bolts. NorthPort cruised to its second straight victory, 100-86 against Terrafirma. Batang Pier leaned once again to Robert Bolick—who flirted with a 26-point, 10-assist, 8-rebound triple-double—and Jamie Malonzo—with 19 points and 16 rebounds.

TNT bagged back-to-back PBA-3×3 leg titles. TNT outplayed TerraFirma in the title match of the fourth leg of the PBA 3×3 Third Conference tournament, 21-15.

NCAA Season 97

Coach Goyareb returned. San Sebastian College – Recoletos swept Emilio Aguinaldo College in three sets as head coach Roger Goyareb returned after recovering from multiple myeloma. Katherine Santos led the Lady Stags with 14 points.

Sweeps in women’s volleyball. Lyceum of the Philippines University swept University of Perpetual Help System DALTA behind Janeth Tulang’s 20 markers. In opening games of NCAA Season 97 women’s volleyball tournament, defending champion Arellano University and De La Salle – College of Saint Benilde dominated their opponents—Mapua University and San Beda University respectively.


Azkals boosted their chance to return to Asian Cup. The Philippine men’s football team stunned the host team Mongolia, 1-0, in a hotly contested match in the AFC Asian Cup Qualifiers. Fil-German Gerritt Holtman scored his first international goal in the 90th minute. Three days before, the Azkals had a goalless draw against Yemen. The Philippines now leads Group B with 4 total points, followed by Palestine (3) and Yemen (1) while Mongolia is at the bottom.

Japan and Thailand dominated PH Volleyball in exhibition matches. The Philippine women’s volleyball team got swept in four sets by Japan—25-14, 25-9, 25-23, 19-25—in an exhibition match. Mayu Ishikawa led the Japanese with 22 markers. The seventh-ranked team in the world used the exhibition match as a tune-up ahead of their return to action in the Volleyball Nations League, where they remain the lone unbeaten team with a 4-0 win-loss record. Reigning Philippine Volleyball League Open Conference MVP Tots Carlos was the only Filipina to score double-digits with 14 on 12 attacks and 2 blocks. A day before, Thailand won against the Filipinas—25-13, 25-10, 25-16.

Gilas Men will face South Korea in friendlies. The Philippine men’s basketball team will play against South Korea in back-to-back friendly games on June 17th and 18th. UAAP Season 84 and NCAA Season 97 MVPs Ange Kouame and Rhenz Abando will lead the young squad. Guards in the roster are RJ Abarrientos, KBL-bound SJ Belangel, Francis Lopez, Kiefer Ravena and Dwight Ramos. Front court players in the roster are Dave Ildefonso, Carl Tamayo, William Navarro, Geo Chiu, and Kevin Quiambao.